Archive

Posts Tagged ‘spam’

They’re nothing if not quick

May 11th, 2009 nandrews No comments

On May 1, the makers of Hydroxycut, the shady weight-loss miracle drug, recalled the product due to a statement by the FDA telling consumers “to immediately stop using Hydroxycut products”1

The problem appears to be that the use of the product is bad for your liver. Apparently, REALLY bad for your liver. I mean, REALLY REALLY bad. I’ll let the FDA’s statement lay it out for you:

The FDA has received 23 reports of serious health problems ranging from jaundice and elevated liver enzymes, an indicator of potential liver injury, to liver damage requiring liver transplants. One death due to liver failure has been reported to FDA. Other health problems reported include seizures; cardiovascular disorders; and rhabdomyolysis, a type of muscle damage that can lead to other serious health problems such as kidney failure.

That’s right. While only 23 complaints have arisen, it’s very likely that there are many more people who started to notice an adverse effect and just quit using it (the smart people, as I like to refer to them). Some people, who had to have noticed some adverse effects, continued to use the products to the point of permanently damaging their livers, one so much that they died (the not-so-smart people, as I like to refer to them).

Anyway, this is all beside the point I came here to make. What I came here to say was that in only 10 days, I have started recieving SPAM e-mail regarding the recall. I know it’s spam for a few reasons:

  1. The ‘from:’ domain is remarkheavensbr.net, which points to just a parking site with no content at all (not even html headers).
  2. The ’subject:’ line is grammatically incorrect: “FDA Recall Hydroxycut”. They could have at least said “FDA Recalls Hydroxycut” or “FDA Recall of Hydroxycut (products)”, or any other permutation.
  3. The real kicker: The entire content of the e-mail is images, which likely link back to a tracking site somewhere that validates your e-mail address, were your mail client to download the images.

So, I have no idea what this SPAM is advertising, not as if I cared. I just thought it was pretty interesting how quickly these lowlifes jump on new bandwagons.

Someday, I envision a future where the webbernets are SPAM-free, and anyone caught abusing the system in such a way is strung up in a public forum. But that’s just me.

Something ALL IM Networks Should Have

October 22nd, 2008 nandrews No comments

I was talking with a friend today over Yahoo! IM. I don’t normally sign in to YIM, and haven’t for several weeks. This is due to the fact that every time I sign in, I get bombarded with spam IMs. Most of these have been sent while I was offline, creating a serious mess whenever I decide to grace the few friends I talk to on YIM with my online presence.

Something that was suggested was a method to only accept messages from people already on your contacts, similar to e-mail whitelisting. It appears that AIM offers something of this type, but only in their ‘Pro’ version.

Why can’t we, by default, set ourselves up to automatically stop IM spam at the source. If someone is not on your contact list, and you have this turned on, they will not be able to contact you. It should be that simple. It should not be a premium or ‘Pro’ feature. It should simply be a flag you check in your account settings that says “Block IMs from anyone not on my contact list”.

Now, if I’m way off base on this, and I’m simply looking in the wrong place, PLEASE leave a comment and let me know where I can set this in either (or both) YIM or AIM. I’ll send you a virtual cookie in appreciation.

Spammers are Getting Dumber

August 8th, 2008 nandrews No comments

Either that, or the smarter ones have moved on and decided to attempt to make a life for themselves.

On my LockerGnome tech-centric blog, I received the following comment (link removed for obvious reasons):

Author : e-marketing (IP: 125.164.222.118 , 118.subnet125-164-222.speedy.telkom.net.id)
E-mail : mbahgugel@gmail.com
URL : [removed]
Whois : http://ws.arin.net/cgi-bin/whois.pl?queryinput=125.164.222.118
Comment: halowwwwwwwwwwwwww

hmm nice articel bropooo

i have exitingarticel in my site

[url removed]

That’s all. A horrendously spelled, mostly nonsensical attempt to get me to hit what is most likely just a link farm page (with probably more than a couple of malicious links).

Seriously, if you really want someone to look at your crappy spam site, you need to do a lot better than that.

I invite any reader of this site to sign the e-mail address above up for whatever mailing lists you feel are appropriate. Let them learn the ‘power’ of spam.

Categories: Random Stuff Tags: , , ,